Children in Poverty

Hello Readers,
I hope all of you are well! How do you feel about raising kids in poverty? I want to share my point of view and hopefully hear from you all!!
As a woman born into a struggling, single parent house I can relate to the many issues that come with poverty. My parent, due to a disability has been on fixed income and will most likely remain there if not for some sort of miracle. My sibling and I were always provided with the basics though the household tended to be full of turmoil. I never understood how people who are already have struggle, choose to have kids like that would make life an easier.
I get it, shit happens! But is there not a thing called responsibility? I understand that many folks hold deep desires to raise children and all of that. I just don’t see the purpose in having them knowing you can’t really enjoy them or provide them With a half way decent life.
Life can get better! But is it not a better idea to be a better established individual prepared for anything that may happen, able to set up funds for them to have a fighting chance, show them the world or at least something other than their backyard, provide them an adequate education and healthcare, an over all good life? That us what I strive for. I also want to take the time to find a man that will be the father of my children and not just the “baby daddy” or worse “that nigga who ain’t do shit yet.”
Many folks, especially blacks, have kids with less progressive folks and wonder why we haven’t quite faired like we would’ve liked to. I believe in black love and black babies. However, I also believe that if we are not smarter and continue settling for less, we deserve to live in ghettos struggling. If you keep doin what you’ve always done, you’ll keep getting what you’ve always got. We have do want better and do better. Even more important we have to want to do better!

Thanks For Reading,
A. The Blogger
TWITTER: @atheblogger

2 thoughts on “Children in Poverty

  1. Why do black folks find it necessary to save the race, save yourself has always been my thought. If you start with yourself then “we” can collectively start to help each other. The ghetto is filled with zombies and unfulfilled dreams, if black folks dont demand better then we will never get better…just my opinion

    • Hello there,
      I appreciate your point of view. Self progression is definitely necessary. It is also important to positively contribute to the community of which we come from. I have heard that it takes a village to raise a child and I believe that if we help each other in a more community related approach rather than only doing charities or volunteering at the local homeless shelter is a good start. We must be the change we want to see!!

Leave a comment